A Complete Overview of The IGCSE Exam Pattern

IGCSE is expanded as Worldwide Basic Certificates of Secondary Schooling. It’s a standard worldwide certification for the secondary faculty. It’s also known as O-Degree or yr 11 or fifth type in respective colleges and international locations, previous to continuing to superior ranges such because the sixth type or A-level or 12 &13 yr and even the pre-university research.

IGCSE was beforehand College of CIE, Cambridge Worldwide Examinations, in 1988. The truth is, since 1858, College of Cambridge is the UK native examination board. The time period “IGCSE” is a trademark registered of College of Cambridge. Usually, when somebody says IGCSE, it’s taken because the IGCSE Cambridge from the CIE board.

The curricula of the IGCSE are much like O-Degree quite than the GCSE UK nationwide curriculums. Thus, the examination foundation is taken into account rigorous and more difficult.


IGCSE is now supplied in unbiased colleges and personal worldwide colleges in additional than 120 international locations. The IGCSE certificates is acknowledged by most main faculties and universities. It satisfies the entry stage requirement of universities and establishments in lots of international locations. Thus, college students could enter college on finishing IGCSE. Nonetheless, most choose pursuing to Worldwide Baccalaureate or A-Degree.

IGCSE is outstanding amongst grownup college students and homeschoolers. IGCSE is taken by college students within the age group of 14-16 or 15-17. It permits college students from various training and in addition the grownup college students to sit down for exams and pursue private training development.

Some homeschooling educators are selecting IGCSE opposing the common American highschool curriculums as it’s yet one more yr superior than the common course of American highschool.


IGCSE has over 70 topics. College students should take a minimal of 5 and most 14 topics. First, second languages, sciences together with physics, biology and chemistry and Arithmetic are the core topics. College students selecting different topics are accounting, economics, enterprise research and sociology to pc research, artwork & design and knowledge & communication know-how.

College students are awarded the IGCSE certificates for every topic. Should you take 5 topics, you obtain 5 IGCSE certificates. The quantity of topics to be taken range with every faculty.

The IGCSE follows grade system from A* to G, and “Ungraded” is U. College students should receive minimal C grade for the 5 core topics to proceed to the superior stage or additional training.

IGCSE grading overview is as beneath:

A* is 4.Zero or 4.Three as grade

A is 4.0

B is 3.7

C is 3.0

D is 2.3

E is 2.0

F is 1.3

G is 1.o

U is 0.0(ungraded)

Group Award Cambridge ICE

The Cambridge ICE certificates denotes group award designed to supply a broad curriculum. Candidates give minimal seven topics from the 5 IGCSE curriculum areas:

Group 1 – Languages

Group 2 – Social Sciences and Humanities

Group 3 – Sciences

Group 4 – Arithmetic

Group 5 – Inventive, Vocational and Technical

Cambridge ICE is awarded on passing in at the very least 7 Cambridge IGCSE topics, and this contains two from Group 1 and one from Teams 2 to five. The seventh topic will be something chosen from the syllabus teams.

Source by Dhivya Rateesh Nair

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Bot Varification *